1st International Conference on Energy Research and Social Science

2-5 April 2017 | Melia Sitges, Sitges (near Barcelona), Spain

With the recent adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals by the United Nations, it is clear that in order to achieve Goal 7 (Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all), the interaction between energy and society will need to be examined in greater detail, and solutions to address the energy trilemma (security, equity, and environmental sustainability) will need to be found in concert with technological advances.

Energy for Society: 1st International Conference on Energy Research & Social Science aims to examine the relationship between energy systems and society. It will cover a range of topics revolving around the intersection of energy technologies, fuels, and resources; and social processes and influences - including communities of energy users, people affected by energy production, social institutions, customs, traditions, behaviours, and policies.

The conference will include the following themes, each open to papers, posters, and panels:

1. Energy and social theory / social practice

Theme lead: Harold Wilhite
h.l.wilhite@sum.uio.no

2. Energy consumption and behavior

Theme lead: Linda Steg
e.m.steg@rug.nl

3. National energy politics

Theme lead: Marilyn Brown
Marilyn.Brown@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

4. Energy institutions and Governance

Theme lead: Andreas Goldthau
Andreas.Goldthau@rhul.ac.uk

5. Energy equity and justice

Theme lead: Raphael Heffron
r.heffron@qmul.ac.uk

6. Energy and innovation

Theme lead: Kathy Araujo
Kathleen.Araujo@stonybrook.edu

7. Energy transitions

Theme lead: Florian Kern
F.Kern@sussex.ac.uk

8. The water, food, and energy nexus

Theme lead: Erika Weinthal
erika.weinthal@duke.edu

9. Distributed and community energy

Theme lead: Patrick Devine Wright
P.G.Devine-Wright@exeter.ac.uk

10. Energy affordability and poverty

Theme lead: Lucie Middlemiss
L.K.Middlemiss@leeds.ac.uk

11. Energy and the environment

Theme lead: Scott Valentine
scott.valentine@nus.edu.sg

12. Energy security

Theme lead: Philip Andrews-Speed
esicpa@nus.edu.sg

13. Energy, social science, and energy studies (state of the field)

Theme lead: Benjamin K. Sovacool
b.sovacool@sussex.ac.uk

14. Other

Content-ERSS2017@elsevier.com

Those interested in submitting proposals should write directly to each respective Theme Leaders for any queries or informal feedback on proposals.  Abstracts are to be 300 words or less (no papers please) and submitted using the online submission form above.  A condition of submission is that, if accepted, the paper or poster will be presented at the conference by one of the authors (or one author per paper in the case of Panel presentation) and a registration fee must be completed for each person presenting and attending the conference and fees are payable in advance of the event. All abstracts will be refereed by the Scientific Committee.

We encourage delegates in particular to submit proposals for panels—collections of papers organized around a core topic of theme. We want to give proposers the flexibility to determine the structure and content of these panels: number of papers, sequence, whether they have a discussant and moderator or not, whether they have multiple sessions or not. Generally, we envision each session consisting of 2-4 papers (with or without discussants or commentators) for a total of 90 minutes.

Register Now View Program

Click to download apps

Conference Speakers
  • Marilyn Brown, School of Public Policy, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts , Georgia Tech
  • Michael Jefferson, ESCP Europe Business School, London, UK; University of Buckingham, UK
  • Miranda Schreurs, Bavarian School of Public Policy on the Technical University of Munich
  • May Tan-Mullins, School of International Studies, The University of Nottingham Ningbo China
  • Jim Watson, Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), University of Sussex; Director, UK Energy Research Centre (UKERC)
  • Harold Wilhite, Centre for Development and Environment, University of Oslo
Committee

Conference Chairs


Theme leads

Supporting Publications



Organised by
 
Elsevier
Sponsors
 
Duke Kunshan